Go TO Content

Kaohsiung City Council

Incheon Metropolitan Council
Incheon Metropolitan City

Incheon Metropolitan City refers to the metropolitan city in the northwest side of South Korea located at the mid-west of the Korean Peninsula. The coastal city faces the Yellow Sea and is away from the capital Seoul by about 28 km. The Incheon international airport is in the outskirts, and it is an important transportation facility to other countries. Incheon originally belongs to Gyeonggido. The city expanded to a special municipality on July 1st, 1981. The city then again advanced to Incheon Metropolitan City on January 1st, 1995.
The population in Incheon Metropolitan City is about 2.8 million, with 8 administrative districts and 2 counties.

Council Summary

Incheon Metropolitan Council

Incheon Metropolitan City consists of 38 council members (local district 30 members, 3 representative members, and 5 educational council members) who are elected once every 4 years. The council conducts regular meetings twice annually with 6 parliamentary groups. The council is operated by the council operation committee, strategic administrative committee, culture and welfare committee, industrial committee, construction and traffic committee, and education committee.

Incheon Metropolitan Council_Website